Woman of the Month Award

Aims of award

  • To promote and foster pride in, and recognition of, outstanding achievements which advance our goals and values
  • To develop an appreciation of the diversity and depth of personal and community achievement within women in aquaculture/seafood
  • To promote and recognise individual aquaculture/seafood women for the time and dedication they have demonstrated for members of the community
  • To provide positive role models for women in aquaculture/seafood.


Nominees must be:

  • Women engaged in aquaculture/seafood who have made a noteworthy contribution to the aquaculture/seafood local or global community
  • Women who have provided a positive role model for women in aquaculture/seafood
  • Women who have advanced the goals and values of Aquaculture without Frontiers  (Refer Strategic Plan)
  • Nominated on the official form and supported by two others.

How to nominate someone for the Woman of the Month Aquaculture/Seafood Award

Complete the Woman of the Month Nomination Form.

When you nominate someone, it is a good idea to have a head and shoulders photograph of the nominee available for the website. You will be contacted and asked to forward the photo if your nominee wins.

The cut-off for each month’s nominations will be the 20th of the previous month, eg 20 December is the final date for the January award.

How it will work

In general there will be one monthly award winner, although the Committee reserves the right to promote more than one nominee where quality of application is deemed appropriate.

The Women’s Network Committee with decide the monthly winner/s.

The decision of the Women’s Network Committee in relation to the award is final and no correspondence will be entered into in respect of that decision.

Woman of the Month Award Winners

Dr Jennifer Cobcroft – December 2014

Dr T.V. Anna Mercy – February 2015

May Myat Noe Lwin – March 2015

Dr Flower Ezekiel Msuya – April 2015

Professor Arlyn Mandas – May 2015

Veronica Esquivel Medina – July 2015

Ruth Uribe Quintero – September 2015

Dr Ann Fleming – October 2015

Belinda Miranda-Garrido – November 2015

Dr Meryl Williams – January 2016

Dr Veikila Vuki – February 2016

Professor Indah Susilowati – March 2016

Professor Stella Williams – April 2016

Dr Shakuntala Haraksingh Thilsted – May 2016

Dr Doris Soto – June 2016

Betty More – July 2016

Dr Madhumita Mukherjee – August 2016

Dr Hillary Egna – September 2016

Dr. Amonrat Sermwatanakul – October 2016

Karen Viverica – November 2016